Haiti Blog

Brent & Letitia Jefkins

Life in 3 Suitcases

on May 23, 2014

I don’t know why, or if it means there is something inherently wrong with me, but I find getting rid of the majority of my things and packing my life into a few suitcases invigorating.

I love packing. Packing for vacations. Packing to move (…to another country. Not packing to move to another house in the same country, because you don’t end up getting rid of that much stuff, you just pack it all into so many boxes and then have to lug your stuff around from place to place. In fact, that’s the opposite of what I like doing.)

It’s kind of a challenging to learn to live with only a few necessities. I like the challenge.

Brent and I like to call ourselves minimalists, but I don’t think we are naturally. We know we don’t need a lot of things to live well, and our chosen lifestyle allows us to live within the boundaries of minimalism because every few years we’re forced to purge our stuff. But I think naturally we want to horde because we think it makes our life easier.

Anyways, this isn’t a post about why everyone should get rid of their stuff, because frankly Brent and I end up benefiting from all your stuff because we don’t have any 😉

I just wanted you to have a glimpse into one aspect of what the next week will be like for us. (Yes that’s right, I said WEEK!!) We’ve already gotten rid of so much stuff, and we still have so much left to give away. And I’m not sure if we’ll manage to fit everything we want to bring to Canada into 3 suitcases and 2 carry-ons. But it’s fun for me to try!

Well if we don’t write again before we leave, see those of you who live in the wonderful country of Canada in 7 days. (Well at least we could see you in 7 days, but probably not realistically!)

Brent at our last staff beach day :(

Brent at our last staff beach day 😦

-Letitia

2 responses to “Life in 3 Suitcases

  1. dwitbeck@gmail.com says:

    Wow!! Can you believe it?!! The time for you guys to leave Haiti after 2 1/2 years of missions is here… God bless you as you sort through your stuff and only bring back to Canada the stuff you want!! Thanks for all your excellent blogs and stories… I’ve thoroughly enjoyed them and will miss them. Looking forward to hearing about whatever is coming up for both of you! Maybe a trip to Alberta??!!

  2. Karin says:

    Getting rid of stuff. Packing. Two of my least-favourite things. During my last spring cleaning, I separated myself from 4 30-year old placements and 2 CDs with no content….a triumph for me, haha….and oh – the space this created!!! 🙂 While I try to laugh at myself, I have nothing but respect for you!!! xxx Enjoy your last week…every minute of it! See you soon!

Leave a Reply

