Haiti Blog

Brent & Letitia Jefkins

101 Days

on February 19, 2014

I am sorry, dear readers, for not writing a new blog post in over 2 months.

I did write a newsletter in January, which was full of exciting things we’ve been up to. You can read that here: Jan2014update

Otherwise, you might be wondering what’s going on with us.

What’s going on in our hearts? What have we been processing?

Honestly I’m not even sure I know.

As of today, we have 101 days left in Haiti! We’re thinking a lot about leaving- the good and the bad. But I’m trying not to focus on that. I’m trying not to let “leaving” affect how I interact with people around me…I’m trying not to detach earlier than 101 days from now.

So leaving Haiti is only a small part of what I’ve been thinking about.

Forgiveness has been a big theme in my life lately. I’ve been seeing how hard it is for many of our teens to forgive those who offend and hurt them. They tell me they’d rather hold on to it forever and lose a friend. And no matter how much I tell them it’s not worth it, that grace is better, I don’t think I’ve convinced anyone yet!

I can understand where they’re coming from…because over the last few years I’ve been working on the voice in my head that says, ‘Don’t forgive! You’ll just get hurt again.’ I feel like the only authority I have to tell these teens to forgive is because God has told me to forgive…I’m just passing on the message.

If there is anything I want to pass on…it’s the message of reconciliation. Us to God. Us to others. If there is anything Haiti needs…it’s to learn the importance of reconciliation.

A part of this whole forgiveness thing…is asking others for forgiveness when you hurt them.

I had a perfect opportunity to demonstrate this to one of our teens when I said something seemingly innocent, but as it turns out, very offensive, to a Haitian. I don’t want to give you all the gory details, but I made sure I went to this boy and apologized. I explained that my intentions were not to harm him, but that I now understood that what I said was hurtful and assured him I wouldn’t ever say that again.

You might think, ‘A silly cultural misunderstanding would be easier to forgive than an intentional jab.’ And maybe easier is right, but it still took 3 days for him to talk to me again…and I wasn’t even sure he would because of this great difficulty with forgiving.

But I’m okay with feeling and looking like a big idiot for a few days if that means I have a chance to show our teens how to ask for forgiveness. I’ll be the sacrificial penguin.

Leaving.

Forgiveness.

I’m pretty sure that’s just scratching the surface. But there you have it! And just because I’m nice, here are a few cute pictures of us and our friends a few weeks ago at the movies!

photo-1

photo

4 responses to “101 Days

  1. Marisa Jefkins says:

    Hi Guys;
    Loved the pics! Yes, it will be very hard to leave the relationships that you built in Haiti but the nice thing is that you can keep in touch and carry in your hearts all the many happy memories.
    Looking forward to having you home.
    Love and prayers,
    Mom/Marisa

  2. Karin says:

    I hope you consider making writing a part of your future…you have the gift, and with that, the power to change. I will miss your blogs…but I will welcome knowing you are back in Canada! xx

  3. Karin says:

    “…..to change things”….that’s what I meant…as in the world…..

Leave a Reply

